The Chancellor of the University
Md. Abdul Hamid
Honorable President, The Peoples Republic of Bangladesh


The Vice-Chancellor
Prof. Dr. Saiful Islam


The University Syndicate

Prof. Dr. Saiful Islam, Vice-Chancellor, BUET


Director General, Secondary and Higher Education, Govt. of Bangladesh
Director General, Technical Education, Govt. of Bangladesh
Dean, Faculty of Engineering, BUET
Dean, Faculty of Civil Engineering, BUET
Prof. Dr. Khondoker Bazlul Haque, International Business Department, University of Dhaka
Prof. Dr. Dipak Kanti Das, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, BUET
Prof. Dr. S.M. Nazrul Islam, Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, BUET
Prof. Md. Muhibur Rahman, Director, Center for Advanced Research in Physical, Chemical, Biological and Pharmaceutical Science, Dhaka University
Prof. Dr. Sultana Shafi, Dept. of Physics, Dhaka University
Prof. Dr. Nasreen Ahmed, Dept. of Geography, Dhaka University


Deans of Faculties

Faculty of Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Abu Hashan Bhuiyan
Faculty of Civil Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Mazharul Hoque
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Maksud Helali
Faculty of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Prof. Dr. M. Kaykobad
Faculty of Architecture and Planning Prof. Dr. Zebun Nasreen Ahmed


Heads of Departments

Department of Chemical Engineering Prof. Dr. Ijaz Hossain
Department of Materials & Metallurgical Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Moniruzzaman
Department of Chemistry Dr. Md. Rafique Ullah
Department of Mathematics Prof. Dr. Md. Abdul Alim
Department of Physics Prof. Fahima Khanam
Department of Petroleum and Mineral Resources Engineering Prof. Dr. Mohammad Tamim
Department of Civil Engineering Prof. Dr. K.A.M. Abdul Muqtadir.
Department of Water Resources Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Ataur Rahman
Department of Mechanical Engineering Prof. Dr. Mohammad Ali
Department of Naval Architecture & Marine Engineering Prof. Dr. Goutam Kumar Saha
Department of Industrial and Production Engineering Prof. Dr. Nafis Ahmad
Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering Prof. Dr. Quazi Deen Mohd Khosru
Department of Computer Science and Engineering Prof. Dr. M. Sohel Rahman
Department of Biomedical Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Kamrul Hasan
Department of Architecture Dr. Khandaker Shabbir Ahmed
Department of Humanities Md. Habibur Rahman
Department of Urban and Regional Planning Dr. Ishrat Islam
Department of Glass and Ceramic Engineering Prof. Dr. Md. Fakhrul Islam


Directors of Institutes, Centers & Others

Institute of Water and Flood Management (IWFM) Prof. Dr. Mashfiqus Salehin
Institute of Appropriate Technology (IAT) Prof. Dr. Md. Kamal Uddin
Institute of Information and Communication Technology (IICT) Prof. Dr. Md. Saiful Islam
Directorate of Advisory, Extension and Research Services (DAERS) Prof. Dr. Sheikh Reaz Ahmed
Directorate of Students’ Welfare Prof. Dr. Satya Prasad Majumder
Directorate of Planning and Development Dr. Sarwar Jahan Md. Yasin.
Directorate of Continuing Education (DCE) Dr. Quazi Deen Mohd Khosru
Centre for Energy Studies (CES) Dr. Md. Ziaur Rahman Khan
Centre for Environmental and Resource Management (CERM) Prof. Dr. Rowshan Mamtaz
Biomedical Engineering Centre Prof. Dr. Md. Aynal Haque
Accident Research Institute (ARI) Prof. Dr. Moazzem Hossain
Bureau of Research, Testing and Consultation (BRTC) Prof. Dr. Sk. Sekender Ali
International Training Network Centre (ITN) Prof. Dr. M. Ashraf Ali
Bangladesh Network Office for Urban Safety (BNUS), BUET Prof. Dr. Mehedi Ahmed Ansary
BUET-Japan Institute Disaster Prevention and Urban Safty (BUET-JIDPUS) Prof. Dr. Raquib Ahsan
Center for Regional Development Studies (CRDS) Dr. Mohammad Shakil Akther
Institute of Nuclear Power Engineering (INPE) Dr. M. A. Rashid Sarkar


Provosts of Residential Halls

Ahsan Ullah Hall Professor Dr. Satya Prasad Majumder
Nazrul Islam Hall Professor Dr. Mir Tareque Ali
Titumir Hall Professor Dr. A. K. M. Akther Hossain
Sher-e-Bangla Hall Professor Dr. Md. Mashud Karim
Suhrawardy Hall Professor Dr. Shaikh Anowarul Fattah
Shahid Smritiy Hall Professor Dr. Mohammad Mahfuzul Islam
Chattri Hall Professor Dr. Shakila Rahman
Dr. M.A. Rashid Hall Professor Dr. Md. Elias


Administrative Officers

Registrar Professor Dr. N.M. Golam Zakaria
Comptroller Md. Jashim Uddin Akanda
Controller of Examinations Prof. Dr. Md. Abul Kashem Mia
Librarian (in-charge) Suraiya Begum
Chief Engineer M.M. Abdul Alim
Chief Medical Officer Dr. Md. Shahjahan Ali


The University has also the following Statutory Authorities:

The Syndicate is the supreme authority in major policy-making matters and in approving recommendations. The Finance Committee, the Planning and Development Committee and other committees assist the Syndicate in matters important for proper functioning of the University. The Academic Council is the supreme body for formulating academic rules and regulations to which the CASR, Boards of Undergraduate and Postgraduate Studies and the Faculties recommend.


Administrative Offices of the University

Last Updated:


Comments to: Webmaster