Final round of the National Undergraduate Mathematics Olympiad 2016 held at BUET


The final round of the 8th National Undergraduate Mathematics Olympiad (NUMO 16) was held on 23/12/2016 in the Department of Mathematics, BUET, Dhaka. The opening ceremony was held at 9:00 am in front of the Central Auditorium Compound, BUET. Prof. Dr. Md. Abu Hashan Bhuiyan, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, BUET inaugurated the event as Chief Guest. Special guests and eminent mathematicians spoke at the colorful opening ceremony which ended with a grand rally that marched around the compact campus of BUET. The written test of the NUMO 2016 was conducted from 10.30-1200 in the OAB of BUET.

BUET has organized NUMO 2016 in co-operation with Bangladesh Mathematical Society (BMS) with the financial support from the Title Sponsor A. F. Mujibur Rahman Foundation. The Mathematics Olympiad provides a perfect platform to promote and recognize excellence in the subject matter. Enthusiastic students pursuing an undergraduate course in Mathematics or related subject in Science, Engineering were eligible to participate in the NUMO16. During 12/11/2016-09/12/2016, in 6 regional centers, more than 100 students sat in the regional Math Olympiads and top 10 from each center took part in the final round of NUMO 2016 at BUET.


Closing Ceremony was started at 2.30 pm with recitation from the Holy Quran by Mr. Abdul Halim Bhuiyan, Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, BUET that was followed by a question-answer session. Prof. Dr. Md. Abu Hashan Bhuiyan, Dean, Faculty of Engineering, BUET was present as chief guest and handed over certificates, crests, cash prizes among the top ten winners. Among the special guests, Prof. Amulya Chandra Mandal, Vice-President, BMS; Prof. Munibur Rahman Chowdhury, Convener, National Undergraduate Mathematics Olympiad Committee (NUMOC); Mr. M. Alam, Trustee, A. F. Mujibur Rahman Foundation; Prof. Dr. Md. Shahidul Islam, Secretary, Bangladesh Mathematical Society, Prof. Dr. M. Anwar Hossain, UGC Professor and Co-Convener, NUMOC, Prof. Dr. Bidyut Baran Saha, Kyushu University; Prof. Dr. Md. Abdul Hakim Khan, Vice-President, BMS; Prof. Dr. Md. Manirul Alam Sarker, Member-Secretary-NUMOC; Prof. Dr. K. Farid Uddin Ahmed, Secretary, organizing committee of the final round of NUMO 2016 spoke on the occasion. Renowned mathematicians from different universities were present in the audience. Among top 10 positions in the final NUMO 2016, BUET students secured four including 1st and 2nd spots while Dhaka University graved 2 awards. Prize money of Tk. 10,000/- each was given to the top ten winners of the final round in addition to certificates, crests etc. BMS has also awarded prize money of Tk. 5000/- each to the top 3 winners. The Closing Ceremony was presided over by Prof. Md. Abdul Alim, Head, Department of Mathematics, BUET who has extended vote of thanks to all concerned.


Last Updated:


Comments to: Webmaster